Our Committee

The Inuit Qaujisarvingat National Committee (IQNC) provides overarching direction, technical guidance and recommendations related to Inuit priorities, practices, and policy development on research. The IQNC is a forum to share information and guide research related issues affecting Inuit Nunangat.

Membership follows the structure of the ITK Board of Directors and consists of representatives from the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Nunavut Tunngavik Inc., Makivik Corporation, Nunatsiavut Government, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, Inuit Circumpolar Council - Canada, National Inuit Youth Council, and Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada.

The establishment of the IQNC was approved by the ITK Board of Directors on November 18, 2010.

Members and Meetings:

Pictured here in 2011 at the first IQNC face-to-face meeting in Ottawa from left to right: Sharon Edmunds-Potvin, William Barbour, Gregor Gilbert, Scot Nickels, Leanna Ellsworth, Shannon O'Hara, and Sarah Jancke.

Pictured here in October 2014 outside of the Makivik Corporation offices in Quebec City from left to right: Scot Nickels, Gregor Gilbert, Carla Pamak, Pitseolalaq Moss-Davies, and Sharon Edmunds-Potvin.